What are Buy It Now Items? View Buy It Now Items on SellMyRetro What are Forthcoming Auctions? View Forthcoming Auctions on SellMyRetro What are Standard Auctions? View Standard Auctions on SellMyRetro
Hide information about Pippin

L'Apple Pippin était une incursion début par Apple pour percer sur le marché des consoles de jeux. Dérivé de l'ordinateur Apple Macintosh, en utilisant une version réduite de MacOS (v7), l'objectif de la Pippin était de créer un ordinateur peu coûteux visant la plupart du temps au logiciel de lecture multimédia sur CD, en particulier les jeux, mais aussi fonctionner comme un ordinateur du réseau.

L'Apple Pippin a été fabriqué en grand nombre par Bandai au Japon, et vendu comme l'Apple Bandai Pippin, avec le ATMARK et consoles deWORLD étant produite entre 1995-1997.

Le ATMARK a été conçu pour le marché japonais, alors que la version deWORLD visant à les marchés américains et européens, en utilisant la version anglaise du système d'exploitation.

Jeux ont été chargés à partir du CD-ROM bien que cela a été limité par la mémoire RAM interne 128K et la nécessité d'inclure le système d'exploitation sur chaque CD-ROM (car il n'y avait pas de disque dur), bien que l'expansion de RAM plus tard sont devenus disponibles (jusqu'à 4 Mo).

Avec le prix aux Etats-Unis étant $ 599, cela ne pouvait pas rivaliser avec les consoles de jeux moins chers, et il est estimé que moins de 42 000 unités ont été vendues au total (avec moins de 5.000 clients atteignant aux Etats-Unis).

Curieusement, même si Apple avait chuté développement et Bandai chuté soutien vers la fin de 1997, Katz médias en Irlande a pris sur la cheminée et a commencé à produire la console sous le nom Katz médias Pippin (ou KMP 2000).

Le produit Pippin de Katz médias était disponible en deux configurations. La configuration multimédia de base, bon pour les titres courants ou simples utiliser des applications commerciales; et une version Internet haut de gamme y compris un modem permet l'accès en ligne et la saisie de texte.

Katz Media a signé des accords pour l'utilisation avec des centres commerciaux et internet étaient à la recherche pour développer un nouveau système pour le développement d'un système d'accès Internet intégré pour une utilisation dans des chambres d'hôtel aux côtés de la télévision par câble. Au total, il est estimé que 2000 machines ont été faites par Katz médias et très peu d'entre eux jamais atteint les magasins, avant Apple a tiré la prise complètement.

Certes, le Katz médias Pippin KMP2000 reste la version la plus rare de cette console.

Pippin Souscrivez à Pippin
Sort By

Objet Ending in Prix actuel
Vender Your Item Here
Webstores in this Category
Nom Description Listings in category
eBay Webstore
eBay Webstore
Similar offers on eBay - if you can't find what you are looking for 136

What are Buy It Now Items? View Buy It Now Items on SellMyRetro What are Forthcoming Auctions? View Forthcoming Auctions on SellMyRetro What are Standard Auctions? View Standard Auctions on SellMyRetro
Hide information about Pippin

The Apple Pippin was an early foray by Apple to break into the games console market. Derived from the Apple Macintosh computer, using a cut down version of MacOS (v7), the aim of the Pippin was to create an inexpensive computer aimed mostly at playing CD-based multimedia software, especially games, but also functioning as a network computer.

The Apple Pippin was manufactured in large numbers by Bandai in Japan, and sold as the Apple Bandai Pippin, with the ATMARK and @WORLD consoles being produced between 1995-1997.

The ATMARK was designed for the Japanese market, whereas the @WORLD version aimed at the US and European markets, using the English version of the operating system.

Games were loaded from CD-ROM although this was limited by the 128K internal RAM and the need to include the operating system on every CD-ROM (as there was no hard drive), although later RAM expansions became available (up to 4MB).

With the price in the USA being $599, this could not compete with the cheaper gaming consoles, and it is estimated that less than 42,000 units were sold in total (with less than 5,000 reaching customers in the USA).

Oddly, even though Apple had dropped development and Bandai dropped support towards the end of 1997, Katz Media in Ireland took on the mantel and started producing the console under the name Katz Media Pippin (or KMP 2000).  

The Pippin product from Katz Media was available in two configurations. The basic multimedia configuration, good for running titles or single use business applications; and a higher end Internet version including a modem will allow online access and text input.

Katz Media signed agreements for use with internet shopping malls and were looking to develop a new system for development of an integrated internet access system for use in hotel rooms alongside cable television.  In total it is estimated only 2000 machines were made by Katz Media and very few of these ever reached the stores, before Apple pulled the plug completely.

Certainly the Katz Media Pippin KMP2000 remains the rarest version of this console.

Pippin Subscribe to Pippin
Sort By

Item Ending in Current price
Sell Your Item Here
Webstores in this Category
Name Description Listings in category
eBay Webstore
eBay Webstore
Similar offers on eBay - if you can't find what you are looking for 115